Cincinnati USA Regional ChamberGrowing the vibrancy and
economic prosperity of our region

In This Issue:

    January 24, 2012

    Duke Energy’s Janson named 2012 chair

    Janson, Julie 2Julie S. Janson, president of Duke Energy in Ohio and Kentucky, will serve as the 2012 chair of the Cincinnati USA Regional Chamber. She will be publicly installed into the position on Feb. 16 at the Chamber’s annual dinner.

    “With Julie’s business acumen, regional focus and hands-on approach, she is uniquely positioned to lead the Cincinnati USA Regional Chamber in these evolving times," said Ellen van der Horst, president and CEO of the Cincinnati USA Regional Chamber. “She has commitment, vision, energy and a laser focus on creating jobs in the region. She will truly make a difference in shaping our collective future.”

    In her role at Duke Energy, Janson leads Duke Energy’s Ohio and Kentucky operations, serving approximately 1.2 million gas and electric customers. In addition to her leadership at the Chamber, Janson serves on the boards of the United Way of Greater Cincinnati, 3CDC and Northern Kentucky Tri-ED and is a member of the Cincinnati Business Committee. She also chaired the 2010 campaign for the Fine Arts Fund, now known as ArtsWave.

    Sixteen new board members will join Janson in leading the Cincinnati USA Regional Chamber:

    • Chuck Austin, worldwide president, Ethicon Endo-Surgery
    • Gregory W. Battle, president and CEO, Coolant Control Inc.
    • Laura Brunner, president, Port of Greater Cincinnati Development Authority
    • Christopher C. Froman, president and CEO, Pomeroy
    • Stephen L. Hightower, president and CEO, Hightowers Petroleum Co.
    • Scott J. Hamlin, chief financial and administrative officer, Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center
    • John A. Kraeutler, CEO, Meridian Bioscience, Inc.
    • Stephen G. Leeper, president and CEO, 3CDC
    • Robert A. Lento, president of Global Information Management, Convergys Corporation
    • James E. May, president and CEO, Mercy Health
    • Mark R. Policinski, executive director, Ohio-Kentucky-Indiana Regional Council of Governments
    • Julia Ward Poston, office managing partner, Ernst & Young LLP
    • James R. Regg, Jr., senior executive of Communications and GE Advantage, GE Aviation
    • Liza D. Smitherman, vice president of professional development, Jostin Construction, Inc.
    • Theodore H. Torbeck, president and general manager, Cincinnati Bell Communications
    • Robert W. Zapp, president and CEO, The Bank of Kentucky

    At the annual dinner, the Chamber also will recognize outgoing chair George Vincent, managing partner and chairman of the board of directors at Dinsmore & Shohl. And four new Great Living Cincinnatians, Robert H. Castellini, Nick Clooney, Beatrice C. Lampkin, M.D. and James M. Zimmerman, will be honored for their commitment to the community.

    The Cincinnati USA Regional Chamber’s annual dinner, presented by PNC, will be held on Feb. 16 at the Duke Energy Center Grand Ballroom. The cost of the annual dinner is $150 for an individual or $1,400 for a table of 10.

    Register now or call the Customer Focus Center at 513.579.3111.

Latest News

  • Tell the Cincy story with these talent recruitment cards.

    Learn More