Cincinnati USA Regional ChamberGrowing the vibrancy and
economic prosperity of our region

In This Issue:

    June 07, 2011

    Chamber honors region's top small businesses

    The 2011 Small Business Excellence Awards, presented by PNC and sponsored by Humana, Flynn & Company, Paycor and the Business Courier, were presented to 22 well deserving companies on Tuesday, May 24 at the Millennium Hotel in downtown Cincinnati. The event is the Chamber's annual celebration of small business success. Erin Schreyer, president of Sagestone Partners delivered the keynote address, and Carolyn Pione Micheli, communications director at CincyTech, served as MC.

     View the photo gallery!

     Richardson and Associates was named Small Business of the Year (1-50 employees) and BSI Engineering, Inc. took home the top honor for Small Business of the Year (51-250 employees).

    2011 SBEA Richardson & Associates
    Small Business of the Year (1-50 employees) winner, Sherri Richardson, owner and president of Richardson and Associates, with the Richardson team and Chamber President & CEO, Ellen van der Horst and presenter, Mike Brooks, Humana.
    2011 SBEA BSI Engineering
    Small Business of the Year (51-250 employees) winner, Phillip Beirne, president of BSI Engineering, with Chamber President & CEO, Ellen van der Horst and presenter, Jeff Borcherding, VP of marketing, Paycor.

    Schreyer, Erin 2011 SBEAThe keynote address was delivered by Erin Schreyer, the president of Sagestone Partners and 2010 YWCA Academy of Career Women of Achievement Rising Star. Schreyer shared her “leadership lens” philosophy and spoke on becoming more effective and impactful as a leader in business.

    Congratulations to the 2011 Small Business Excellence Awards winners:

    Small Business of the Year (1-50 Employees):
    Winner: Richardson and Associates
    Runner-up: Partner Professional Staffing

    Small Business of the Year (51-250 Employees):
    Winner: BSI Engineering, Inc.
    Runner-up: Pegasus Technical Services, Inc.

    Emerging Business of the Year:
    Winner: Traction LLC
    Runner-up: MN8

    Minority Business of the Year:
    Winner: Pep
    Runner-up: Deerfield Insurance Group

    Community Involvement:
    Winner: Abstract Displays
    Runner-up: ProSource

    Nonprofit of the Year:
    Winner: Cincinnati Association for the Blind and Visually Impaired
    Runner-up: Greater Cincinnati Health Council

    10 Under 10 Winners: 
    (Small businesses with fewer than 10 employees recognized as a group.)
    Capital Logic LLC
    Easley Blessed Photography
    Fusian (formerly SOHOsushi)
    Heritage Hall & Banquet Center
    J.T. Clark & Associates Inc.
    Kunimura Mitchell & Company CPA
    LARaterman Associates
    Munoz Brandz
    Worldwide Graphics & Sign Company

    View winners from previous years

    For more information on these awards, contact Laurie Brinkman at 513.686.2945 or Look for the 2012 Small Business Excellence Awards call for applications next January.

Latest News

  • Tell the Cincy story with these talent recruitment cards.

    Learn More